HOTY Pointscore Rules

Point score awards are presented to horse and rider combinations.

  • Horse and rider of the year prizes are awarded at the following levels - Preparatory, Preliminary, Novice, Elementary, Medium, Advanced and FEI
  • Winners at each level are the horse (pony) and rider combinations with the highest cumulative points gained at that level.
  • All divisions at each level are combined to establish the horse and rider of the year at that level – ie. Associate, Official, Pony, Official Pony and Junior.
  • Perpetual Trophies are awarded to the divisions of Open, Pony and Junior on the basis of cumulative points (can be more than one level).

Points are awarded as follows

  • 1st
6 points  
  • 2nd
5 points  
  • 3rd
4 points  
  • 4th
3 points  
  • 5th
2 points  
  • 6th
1 point  

To be eligible for point score awards

1) Riders must be current members of SCEC when competing for points to be awarded.  
2) The first 5 competitions of the year will be eligible for points.  
3) Riders must compete in at least 3 of the eligible competitions during the year.  
4) Points will be accrued on scores of 58% and above at each level.  
5) If 3 tests are entered at any level during an event – the best 2 results will be used for the point score calculations.  
6) Points are awarded to horse and rider combinations.